Happy Birthday Preconceived Noceans!

by Preconceived Noceans

(The first time going over the hill at Crystal Beach and the first day filming)

I still remember the first session. Getting the call the night before, skipping class to drive across the border to Canada. Driving over the hill at Crystal Beach not knowing what to expect. And at last, being introduced to a world that changed my life forever.

There is no doubt that this project is the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. Through this journey over the past two years I have learned the true essence of stoke. I have had the privilege to meet and befriend some of the greatest people in the world. Die-hard individuals who embrace life. Surfers brave enough to battle some of the most extreme weather of the planet to slide crumbling waves for a few seconds of utter happiness. Surfers that come together to heal and change lives of children and people who desperately need it. I have witnessed the magic occur in the eyes of Autistic children who are forever changed by taking the first step into a new life. A life where we are all equal, weightless, and for a moment, removed from the world and any problems it may throw at us. We all experience stoke in different ways, but the overall feeling is universal.

The film has changed me for the better. As a filmaker I have learned every step to the process. With help from friends and family, I have learned how to produce and ran a successful kickstarter campaign to raise the necessary funds that has gotten me to this point. I have become a better camera man, learning how to read situations and wait for those special moments to occur. I have learned editing skills which will allow me to release the movie through my eyes, and allow me to make the statement I want to make when the film is finally done. But most importantly, I have learned valuable life lessons and how special this lifestyle really is.

To everyone who has supported this project so far, whether donating money, liking the facebook page, taking time to post a comment, and planning surf trips and sessions to allow me to film, I cannot thank you enough. This project is no longer just mine, it now belongs to a community of people who are just as special to me as the film is.

There is no certain end in sight for the project. Truthfully I dont want it to end, and I don’t think it ever will. In the next year or two I hope to release the film and begin a new one. Preconceived Noceans is a statement and evidence about the special, less understood aspects of the culture, and I think making that statement  will be a lifelong mission for me.

