W.C.T. Quiksilver Pro in Long Beach, NY

by Preconceived Noceans

Thursday and Friday I got out to the Quiksilver Pro in Long Island to witness the best surfer’s in the world compete on the east coast. Originally many were skeptical about holding one of the nine stops of the tour on the east coast because “there are no waves”. Well lucky for us…the ocean wasn’t flat as we showed the rest of the world what the east coast had to offer. With swell from Hurricane Katia, the waves were big and building on thursday, and as winds went light offshore on Friday, the waves cleaned up perfectly as the event ran through the Quarterfinal, Semifinal, and Final heats. Most importantly, I got to witness Taj Burrow, my favorite surfer, surf live and win his first heat. He lost to Kelly Slater in the semifinals after Slater pulled the biggest air I have ever seen and stick it for a perfect 10.

I didn’t stay to see the final heat, for the waves were calling and I was in need to score. I dropped into 3 big barrels (2 of which I got out), and that pretty much wrapped up an amazing morning in Long Beach. I even bumped into Willy and Aurelien from Rochester and we finally got to score some waves not breaking in the lake.

